The Parish Council came into being in 1894 due to Local Government re-organisation.

The Parish Council is a Statutory Body, with members elected every four years and is funded through the local Precept. The Precept is calculated by the Council estimating its expenditure and income for the following financial year and is then added to the Council Tax, collected by Chichester District Council. The Precept is paid to the Parish Council in two instalments in April and September. The Parish Council does not receive funding direct from the Government as the other tiers (County and District Councils) do.

There are nine Members on this Council and the last contested election was in May, 2011 All Parish Councillors are volunteers.

The Parish Council is considered the first tier of local government and can deliver a vast array of public services at a local level. Currently there is a three-tier system of local government in West Sussex (Parish, District and County). However part of the Parish is within the South Downs National Park and therefore the South Downs National Park Aughority are responsible within that area for District functions.

Kirdford Parish Council

Chichester District Council

South Downs National Park Authority

West Sussex County Council

The Parish Council has a large range of powers and therefore is actively engaged on behalf of its residents on a variety of different activities within the community.

What is a Parish Council?

Kirdford Parish Council is the first tier of local government for the Parish of Kirdford which includes Strood Green, Hawkhurst Court and the village of Kirdford.

What Does It Do?

The Council has statutory duties and powers to provide services for the Parish of Kirdford. Within these powers, the Council provide dog and litter bins, community facilities, and it owns and maintains many areas of public open space within the village on behalf of the community.

Who Does It Work With?

The Council works in partnership with:

Other tiers of Government including Chichester District Council, South Downs National Park Authority and West Sussex County Council.
Local community groups.
Leisure providers – Recreation Ground Committee and various sports clubs.
Local churches and youth organisations.
Third sector organisations, such as Action in Rural Sussex